Science Location Rostock

Faculties of the University of Rostock

The University of Rostock is a comprehensive university. Studies, research and teaching take place in all fundamental scientific disciplines. There are 9 different faculties for this. In addition, there is an interdisciplinary faculty where research and teaching takes place across disciplines.

The links will take you to the:

  • Doctoral and habilitation areas,
  • doctoral regulations,
  • doctoral officer,
  • PhD courses and
  • specific information

of the individual faculties.

Private Research Institutes attached to the University of Rostock

Hanseatic Institut for Entrepreneurship and Regional Development - HIERO

Institute for Banking Law and Banking Economics at the University of Rostock e.V. (IfBB)

Institute for ImplantTechnology and Biomaterials e.V. (iiB)

IWEN Energy Institute gGmbH (IWEN)

Leibniz Institute for Catalysis (LIKAT)

Leibniz Institute for Baltic Sea Research Warnemünde (IOW)

Leibniz Institute of Atmospheric Physics (IAP)

University-related research institutions

Deutsches Biomasseforschungszentrum gGmbH (DBFZ)

Deutsches Zentrum für Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen e. V. (DZNE)

Forum Leberdialyse (FLD) e.V.


Fraunhofer Institute for Large Structures in Production Engineering (IGP)

Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research (IGD)

Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf e.V. (HZDR)

Institut für Mess- und Sensorsysteme e.V.


Institut für Zelltechnologie e.V. (IZT)

Leibniz Research Institute for Farm Animal Biology (FBN)

Leibniz Institute for Plasma Science and Technology (INP)

Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research (MPIDF)

Rostocker Zentrum zur Erforschung des Demografischen Wandels (RZ)

Other scientific institutions

Rostock University of Music and Drama (hmt)

Center for Life Science Automation (CELISCA)